Malayalam Film ‘TD Dasan std IV B’ won the Best Screenplay Award in NYIFF2011

-Jose Pinto Stephen [Reporter,WNN]

New York : TD Dasan std IV B received the best screenplay award from the prestigious New York Indian Film festival held in New York City from 4th May to 8th May 2011. This festival was organized by Indo-American Arts Council (IAAC). This is the 11th annual film festival by IAAC. They had competitors from India ad USA.
TD Dasan was produced by two American Malaya lees named Paul Vadukumcherry and Paul Valikodoth and this is their first movie. Story, screenplay and direction was done by the first time director Mohan Raghavan. So it is a big success for the first time producers and the first time director and we can expect more good and world class films for this team.
The last award acquired by TD Dasan is from the Malayalam channel ‘Amrita TV ‘. Amrita TV selected This film for the best director as well as the best child actor awards.
This film also received the following awards. John Abraham award for best picture (2010), Kerala Film Critics award for Best Story and Best Child Artist (2010), Asianet Ujala award for best child artist ( 2011 ), Mathrubhumi award for best child artist ( 2011 ), World Malayalee Council Special Jury Award.

This film is being selected to attend several other film festivals and soon it will be screened in Shanghai International Film Festival. So far this film has been screened in the International Film Festival of Kerala, Pune International Film Festival, Chennai International Film Festival and New York Indian Film Festival. The producer and the director are planning to make more movies in the near future.
The production team is requesting the Malaya lees worldwide to watch this movie and promote it among their communities. The movie is available to be screened with English subtitles so that our second generation also can understand the message of this movie. The most interesting part is that the main characters TD Dasan and Ammu were presented by American Malayalee children and they need to be encouraged and supported by the American Malayalees.
The Producer and the director wants to express their sincere thanks to those who helped them to achieve this recognition and they want to express their sincere thanks to Mr. Andrew Pappachan, one of the founding leaders of the World Malayalee Council for his visit and support during the Film Festival.

Biju Menon, Swetha Menon, Jagathish, Jagathi Sreekumar, Suresh Krishna, Mala Aravindan, Valsala Menon, Sreehari, Gayathri and Shruthi Menon presented the main characters of this film. Master Alexander Vadukumcherry presented the character ‘ TD Dasan’ and Teena Rose Vadukumcherry presented the character ‘ Ammu’

To know more about this movie kindly visit

Old News in webmalayalee:

Leave a Reply